Unable to load plugin "........."

Post here for assistance in troubleshooting a problem using GMAT

Unable to load plugin "........."

Postby JTichy » Tue Jan 11, 2011 3:13 pm

I copied the LatestWindowsBuild folder from mesa-file. Immediately after opening GMAT I receive 2 messages.

"Unable to load the dynamic library "libFminconOptimizer""

followed immediately by

"Unable to load the dynamic library "libMatlabInterface"

After those messages GMAT loads as normal except that the Matlab interface and Fmincon optimizer is not available.

Any thoughts as how to fix this error?
JTichy
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 9:02 pm

Re: Unable to load plugin "........."

Postby jjkparker » Tue Jan 11, 2011 3:56 pm

These errors are caused by not having MATLAB set up so GMAT can find it. Do you have MATLAB installed, and do you want to use it with GMAT?

If you just want to use GMAT without it, you can just comment out the following two lines in gmat_startup_file.txt:

Code: Select all
PLUGIN               = libFminconOptimizer
PLUGIN               = libMatlabInterface


Hope that helps!
Joel J. K. Parker
Flight dynamics engineer, GMAT team
http://gmatcentral.org
jjkparker
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:48 pm
Location: NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD

Re: Unable to load plugin "........."

Postby JTichy » Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:01 pm

I have Matlab and I have ran the matlab.exe - regserver to ensure that GMAT can find it. Is there another way to fix it because the regserver didn't do it this time?
JTichy
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 9:02 pm

Re: Unable to load plugin "........."

Postby jjkparker » Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:12 pm

Here's my checklist of things I do to make sure MATLAB is set up correctly:

1. Install MATLAB 2009b (or earlier, replacing the 2009b references below).

2. Put the elements of the system PATH variable that refer to 2009b before all other MATLAB-related elements.

3. Add C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R2009b\bin\win32 to the 2009b-related section of the system PATH variable.

4. Run matlab.exe -regserver using 2009b.

For example, my system PATH looks like this (where 2009b is the version I use with GMAT):

Code: Select all
PATH=C:\Windows\system32;C:\Windows;C:\Windows\System32\Wbem;C:\Program File
s\OmniBack\bin\;C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R2009b\runtime\win32;C:\Program Files\MA
TLAB\R2009b\bin;C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R2009b\bin\win32;C:\Program Files\MATLAB
\R2010b\runtime\win32;C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R2010b\bin;C:\Program Files\MATLAB
\R2009bSP1\runtime\win32;C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R2009bSP1\bin;C:\Windows\System
32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\;C:\Program Files\Bazaar;C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R2009
a\bin;C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R2009a\bin\win32;C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R2008b\bi
n;C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R2008b\bin\win32;C:\Program Files\MATLAB\R2008a\bin;C:
\Program Files\MATLAB\R2008a\bin\win32;


You could try the above steps using newer versions of MATLAB as well, I've heard they work fine. I just haven't tested that myself.
Joel J. K. Parker
Flight dynamics engineer, GMAT team
http://gmatcentral.org
jjkparker
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:48 pm
Location: NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD

Re: Unable to load plugin "........."

Postby JTichy » Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:38 pm

Joel,

Thank you for your help. Specifically what solved my issue was step #3 on your list. Where I had to have matlab execute as win32 in my environment variable Path.

~Jason
JTichy
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 9:02 pm

Re: Unable to load plugin "........."

Postby jjkparker » Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:46 pm

Glad to help! This is something that should be fixed by release; we don't want everyone to have to go through those steps to use it...
Joel J. K. Parker
Flight dynamics engineer, GMAT team
http://gmatcentral.org
jjkparker
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:48 pm
Location: NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD

Re: Unable to load plugin "........."

Postby barathclm » Fri Feb 14, 2014 9:54 am

I'm using GMAT R2013a and Matlab R2010a 64-bit. whenever i try to load matlab interface in GMAT , I get this following error:

*** Error loading "libMatlabInterface": GMAT could not load the MATLAB interface. Please check that MATLAB is installed and configured correctly. See the User Guide for instructions, or disable the appropriate PLUGIN line in bin/gmat_startup_file.txt to remove this error.
*** Error loading "libFminconOptimizer": Either libMatlabInterface could not load or is disabled, or the MATLAB Optimization Toolbox is not available. Disable the appropriate PLUGIN line in bin/gmat_startup_file.txt to remove this error.

what to do to make matlab interface work ?
barathclm
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 7:36 am

Re: Unable to load plugin "........."

Postby jjkparker » Mon Feb 24, 2014 7:36 pm

barathclm, have you followed the instructions here: http://gmat.sourceforge.net/docs/nightl ... rface.html?

Can you open a Windows command prompt and type path, then post the result?
Joel J. K. Parker
Flight dynamics engineer, GMAT team
http://gmatcentral.org
jjkparker
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:48 pm
Location: NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD

Re: Unable to load plugin "........."

Postby barathclm » Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:34 pm

@ jjkparker , i have posted my command window. Even though the system path was set, its not working.
Attachments
command.png
barathclm
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 7:36 am

Re: Unable to load plugin "........."

Postby jjkparker » Tue Feb 25, 2014 6:49 pm

Yes, I see why. You'll need to add <MATLAB>\bin\win32 to your PATH variable for the plugin to work.

So when you're finished, your path should have this in it:

Code: Select all
...;C:\Program Files (x86)\MATLAB\R2010a\bin;C:\Program Files (x86)\MATLAB\R2010a\bin\win32;...


See here for instructions on how to do that: http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000549.htm
Joel J. K. Parker
Flight dynamics engineer, GMAT team
http://gmatcentral.org
jjkparker
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 9:48 pm
Location: NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, MD

Next

Return to Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest